top of page

THE SUITE SHEET

IDEAS. STRATEGY. TACTICS. INNOVATION. INSPIRATION.

Being a CEO is for the Dogs.

Emily Soccino Grey is the Chief Executive Officer of Spike’s K9 Fund, a nonprofit organization committed to the training, care, and preservation of working dogs, and the support of veteran and first responder wellness. These are the dogs who play important roles on military, search-and-rescue, police, and other first responder and specialty tactical teams, saving countless human lives over the course of their careers.

Spike's was founded by James (Jimmy) Hatch, a retired Special Warfare Operator and K9 handler. To quote Jimmy, his “life was regularly spared by the work of K9s - one of the most memorable was Spike.” On Hatch’s final deployment, he was critically wounded; that night, a K9 named Remco saved Jimmy’s life while losing his own. Now, Jimmy is pursuing a new chapter, and Emily is leading the organization as CEO.

Emily has been a part of Spike’s since the beginning. “When I first met Jimmy Hatch through CrossFit, he knew my passion was for the dogs,” Emily explains. “When Spike’s K9 Fund was born, I asked to help out anywhere I could. I started out talking to different veterinary hospitals about the mission and then volunteering my time setting up booths at various events. Jimmy continued giving me more responsibilities and what started as a fun way to spend my time off helping the dogs quickly became a passion for the cause. After about a year of volunteering, I was offered the first employee position and I said ‘heck yes!’ with zero hesitation. I haven’t looked back since.”

That impassioned yes took place nearly eight years ago. Since that time, Spike’s K9 Fund has served many of the 25,000 working dogs in the United States by providing bespoke bullet-proof vests, training, medical services, and more. Emily’s work supporting the dogs–and the people in the communities those dogs serve–has come with many lessons; she shared a few with us.

Take the Risk and Take Nothing for Granted.

“I was taking a huge risk, not having much experience in the nonprofit world and starting with a brand new organization,” says Emily, “But [Founder James Hatch] was also taking one with hiring me–given my little time in the nonprofit sector–and I’ve never taken that for granted.”

Emily began her official time with Spike’s as Director of Operations, handling all daily operations of the organization and acting as the liaison for K9 handlers.

Choose Your Crew Well - Then Take Great Care of Them

Emily emphasized the importance of an incredible team early and often. “Surround yourself with GOOD people that you can trust! A good (or bad) crew will make all of the difference in the world. They can make or break your organization. A very big part of our success is because we have had so many good individuals in our circle.”

“I have learned SO many lessons with this organization, some of them the hard way. One that has stuck with me is taking care of your crew. This is something that was instilled in Jimmy as a team leader in the SEAL teams, so I was fortunate to learn firsthand from him. He has always made sure I’ve had everything I need to do my job, but also that I’m set in my personal life.” Emily speaks of having always felt supported by Jimmy and Spike’s - being adequately equipped with benefits, compensation, and support - and the loyalty that breeds. “Like everyone, I’ve had my ups and downs in life, but knowing that I had what I needed to take care of my personal side allowed me to remain focused on my work. If you can make sure your crew is taken care of to the best of your ability, I believe that will improve morale, trust, and productivity. After all, your crew helps make the magic happen, so you want to make sure they know they’re valued.”

In an environment - and sector - where the drive to expand your audience can be intense, Emily emphasized that while finding new supporters is important, your foundation is your current relationships. “Finding new supporters is important and necessary for growth, but your priority should be with those who already support you. Make sure they know they are valued and that none of your work would be possible without them. Focus on building the relationships you already have.”

Emily walks the talk here - when asked what she’s proudest of, she immediately responds, “Our team and supporters. It has taken years to curate the amazing pack of supporters we have today. I wouldn’t trade them for the world.”

Asset > Liability

“Take care of yourself and your mental health. This is vital, especially when others rely on your best self showing up every day. You can’t help anyone if you’re not in a good spot yourself mentally. It’s easy to focus on everything and everyone else, but make some self-care a priority. That could be exercise, cooking, a good book, playing with your dog, you name it. Just pencil it in your planner regularly.” Emily suggestions. She continues, “Our mantra is Asset > Liability. Strive to be an asset in your career, your family, your friends, your life. Sometimes things happen in life that prevent you from being an asset - or you may not even realize you’re a liability, but when you’re taking care of yourself, there’s a good chance you will be an asset to someone who needs it.”

To make a gift or learn more about the work Spike’s K9 Fund does to support working dogs and their human teammates, visit SpikesK9Fund.org.


Lauren Lyddon has helped people and organizations to tell their stories for more than a decade. Having tested her love of the creative through the pursuit of an MBA and undergraduate business degrees, she is a writer, editor, and lover of fiction in all its forms (especially theatre, well-written television, and novels). A West coast resident often operating on an East coast schedule, Lauren uses her business background and love of story to serve clients in writing, editing, PR, and more. You can visit her online at L2crtv.com.

Comentarios


bottom of page